Melton Carnegie Museum is housed in the town's former Carnegie Library, built in 1905 with a grant from the industrialist Andrew Carnegie, the building became the town's museum in 1977. Owned and managed by Leicestershire County Council, the museum has benefited from two significant refurbishments. The first in 2002 and the most recent in 2010, with funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund, the Museum of Hunting Trust, Melton Mowbray Town Estate, Melton Borough Council and the Friends of Melton Carnegie Museum.
The Museum has a Changing Places facility, a large meeting room which is available to hire, a small archive which supports local and family history research and an extensive collection of books and records about the history of fox hunting.
The museum galleries are on the ground floor and showcase the history of Melton and the people who have lived and worked here from the Bronze Age to the present day.
The Museum is managed by Leicestershire County Council's Communities and Wellbeing Service, which also includes the Leicestershire County Council Museums Collections, Image Leicestershire, Bosworth Battlefield Heritage Centre, 1620s House and Garden at Donington le Heath, Harborough Museum, Charnwood Museum, Creative Learning Services, the Record Office for Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland, Leicestershire Libraries and Leicestershire Adult Learning Service.
Melton Carnegie Museum's staff are employed by Leicestershire County Council, vacancies are advertised on the East Midlands Job Site. The Museum is supported by an active Friends group, as well as a team of volunteers who undertake many different task and activities.